Kids World

The Boy Who Grew a Forest : The True Story of Jadav Payeng by Sophia M. Gholz

The Boy Who Grew a Forest Book Cover: illustrated image of a boy carrying plants in satchel on back with trees and ferns all around and animals peeking out of the brush"The best time to plant a tree was twenty years ago. The second best time to plant a tree is now. -proverb"

As a young boy, Jadav "Molai" Payeng witnessed the disastrous impact of the rainy season in India.
He was distressed by how many animals were losing their homes, and so he built them a new forest.
This true story about a man who dedicated his life to expanding the forest area near his home and keeping
the animal population alive makes an absolutely gorgeous picture book with a message of dedication and
strength for young people ages 4-8. The stunning art of Kayla Harren really brings this Indian forest to life.

Find The Boy Who Grew a Forest in the Library

Katy, Kids World

Swarm of Bees by Lemony Snicket

Swarm of Bees book cover: illustration of a boy depicted as all yellow with black stripes on his shirt pulling a red wagon with bees followingYou are so angry! What will you do? 
 
“You can’t sting the cat!” Shouts the narrator - A swarm of angry bees have taken over the town creating chaos everywhere they go as they follow a little boy who looks just like them.  But why does the little boy have a wagon full of tomatoes? Splat! In Lemony Snicket’s latest picture book, we learn that anger is an emotion we should not let take over. But the damage has been done to this peaceful town. Who will the bees try to stink next? 
 
Anger is an emotion all young readers have to learn to live with and find ways to overcome it.  I love how Snicket tackles the subject with simple yet a powerful story that ends in love and comfort. The illustrator Rilla Alexander helps the story flow with primary colors done in a rubber stamp, ink and collage format allowing everything to come to life. If you enjoy Eric Carle’s The Grouchy Ladybug or David Shannon’s No David!, then you will connect with Swarm of Bees.  Ages 4-8.
 
 
Jorge, Kids World

Guts by Raina Telgemeier

Guts book cover: an emoji face with tongue sticking out and worried eyes“I was a nervous kid. Self-conscious. Shy. Quiet… Most of the time.”

In this highly anticipated graphic novel, Raina is experiencing a lot of stress from multiple fronts. Her anxiety changes the way she perceives every day moments: eating, using the school restroom, spending time with friends, etc. Unfortunately, her anxiousness comes with physical symptoms such as IBS, which exacerbates the stress of getting through the school day- if she even is able to attend school. Slowly, Raina regains control of her runaway thoughts and emotional spikes with the assistance of a therapist.

Bullying behavior at school is on display here, and the fear of being targeted is very poignant. Though the bully plot is perhaps a bit too neatly wrapped up by the end, the concept of coping with anxiety and not curing anxiety is deftly handled.

Fans of Telgemeier’s Smile and Sisters will find a lot to enjoy here. Those in upper elementary school who appreciated the social constructs of Palacio’s Wonder and Hunt’s Fish in a Tree may also find this graphic novel worth a read.

Find Guts in the Library

Celeste, Kids World

Sweety by Andrea Zuill

Sweety book cover: an illustrated mole rat in a yellow dress sits alone on a wooden bench“Occasionally Sweety did things that others had a hard time comprehending. Like the day she gave her book report through interpretive dance.”

Have you ever danced to the beat of your own drum? Have hobbies that some may find weird or just different?

Sweety is an awkward mole rat. She likes to interpretive dance, look for various fungi, and read all sorts of books. But she doesn’t have many friends. Not a lot of the other mole rats like to look at fungi, you see. And they don’t quite understand the meaning of interpretive dance.

But after her beloved and equally awkward Aunt Ruth comes to visit, Sweety realizes that she doesn’t have to change who she is to have friends. Just be who you are and the friends will find you.

It’s a perfect book for preschool to lower elementary readers who need a boost of self-confidence (or to look at cute naked mole rats!)

Find Sweety in the Library

Victoria, Kids World

True Tales of Rescue: Sweet Senior Pups by Kama Einhorn

True Talesof Rescue: Sweet Senior Pups book cover: a black and gray haired dog on coverThere’s plenty of heartbreak involved in any sanctuary’s story, but there’s also good news. People who help animals are everywhere.

So many books tell you about your new puppy. How to pick the perfect pup, how to train it, and how to care for it while it grows…but what about when your loyal dog get older and have a grey ‘sugar face’? Join Mino, Jack, and Buffy, three senior dogs that take you on a tour of Senior Dog Sanctuary of Maryland. Meet their friends, hear their true stories of rescue, and learn how you can help!

Sweet Senior Pups is a book about love, healing, and helping. So many senior dogs need help are ready for loving homes. This book teaches us all how to care for them from ‘sugar face’ tip to waggly happy tail. Learn how to adopt them, make them special treats, how to play new games and generally helping them enjoy their life until they get to that ‘rainbow bridge’ in the sky. Sweet Senior pups is a must read for any dog owner, and a good basis for children of all ages to be completely educated about the complete responsibility of caring for their furry family member from beginning to end.

Find True Tales of Rescue: Sweet Senior Pups in the Library.

Naomi, Kids World

New Kid by Jerry Craft

New Kid book cover: illustration of boy in blue hoody and backpack over shoulder. A pencil is in one hand and a open notebook in the other"They say that there are animals that will chew off their own leg to get out of a trap. I never understood that...until now."

Jordan Banks is in the 7th grade and loves drawing cartoons about his life. But rather than attending art school, his parents are sending him to a fancy private school renowned for its academics. As one of the few students of color, he soon finds himself lost between his neighborhood life in Washington Heights and his new upscale life at Riverdale Academy Day School.

Author & Illustrator Jerry Craft’s funny illustrations deftly contrast with the novel’s more sobering themes of bullying, income inequality and microagressions. New Kid always maintains its sense of humor which is what makes it the perfect graphic novel for kids ages 10-14.

Kids who like authors Raina Telgemeier or Jason Reynolds will love New Kid. It’s also a great read-a-like for other graphic novels such as Cardboard Kingdom by Chad Sells or Real Friends by Shannon Hale.

Find New Kid in the Library.

Brooke, Kids World

Final Battle Scores

The Battle of the Books is now completed. Congratulations on a great season. Overall, the scores are very close this year and all participants should be very proud of their efforts.

We look forward to seeing everyone on Wednesday, April 3rd for the Battle Award Ceremony. Each member of every team will receive their Battle Certificate and be able to hear author, Keir Graff, speak about writing. We will all dine on pizza as the author signs Battle Certificates or purchased books.

Please note this year teams have the opportunity to test their book knowledge against Miss Tiffany. Teams are invited to write their questions (be sure to have the relevant page numbers written down that support your answers), and quiz Miss Tiffany during the pizza eating portion of the Awards Ceremony.

See you there!

Battle 3 Recap

Battle Three Scores: Giles in first place followed by Leigh Black, St. Eugene, Union Ridge, Leigh Red, Pennoyer, St Monica White, then lastly, St Monica BlueCongratulations to all the teams for their great work during Battle 3. We are now over halfway through the battle season. High scoring rounds during Battle 3 caused a lot of movement in the leader board. We are excited to see what happens next week!

Remember, next week is the last week to turn in your Purchase Forms. If you need a second copy, please stop by the Kids World desk anytime during the week. Remember, only by pre-ordering guarantees that you'll have the copy of the book you want at the Award Ceremony for the author to sign. 

Happy reading!

 

Battle 2 Recap

Battle 2 Scores:Congratulations to all the teams for their strong efforts during Battle 2.

As you know, the challenges made during Battle 2 will be addressed before the start of Battle 3. Any points awarded for those challenges will be added into Battle 3 scores. Challenges are a vital part of the Battle process, and sometimes a question is worth scrutiny to be sure it was fair and accurate. However, there are a few things to keep in mind when challenging a question: Have you read the book? Do you wholeheartily believe that the answer given (and all the teams that got the answer correct) are wrong? If you can honestly answer yes to both of those questions, then it is only right to challenge that question.

On a secondary note, remember to turn in your Purchase Order Forms and payment for pre-order books either before or after battle next week. If you have lost your Purchase Order Form and would like to order a book for the guest speaker to sign at the Battle Awards Ceremeony, please stop by the Kids World desk for a new form.

We look forward to seeing everyone next week!

Battle 1 Recap

Something to consider for next Battle: Remember to take your best guess if you do not know an answer. Since there is no penalty for a wrong answer, a guess is better than bringing up a blank sheet of paper, and who knows, your team might get lucky!

There were a few challenges to questions. These challenges will be reviewed, and the decisions announced at the beginning of Battle 2. If points are to be awarded from the challenges, those points will be added to Battle 2's scores.

We look forward to seeing everyone next week. Remember, next Wednesday during Battle is the first time you can return your order slips to purchase books for the guest author to sign during the Battle Awards Ceremony.

Pages