The Scoop - The Blog For Kids World

Tyrannosaurus Rex Vs. Edna the Very First Chicken By: Douglas Rees

Tyrannosaurus Rex xs. Edna the Very First Chicken book cover; illustration of a chicken standing between the feet of a dinoasur"I am big and fierce and you should be afraid of me,’ Tyrannosaurus said. “I am small and brave and you should be afraid of me,” Edna told him."

Tyrannosaurus Rex is really hungry for some breakfast. The big T Rex chases all the other dinosaurs in hopes of having them as his next meal. Edna, the itty-bitty chicken, is not afraid of Tyrannosaurus Rex. She doesn’t run away, but stands her ground!

In this delightful picture book, Rees shows us that we should stand up to bullies and not let them frighten us. Younger elementary school readers would enjoy this book.

Find Tyrannosaurus Rex Vs. Edna the Very First Chicken in the Library.

Victoria, Kids World

Dear Girl by Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Paris Rosenthal

Dear Girl Book Bover: illustration of a girl on a swing hanging from a chair"Dear Girl, Listen to your brave side…"

I first noticed the sweet cover art. Then I saw that this book was written by one of my favorite children’s book authors, who recently died, with her young adult daughter. AKR was a favorite because she was a real person – I got to see her read, speak and share joy a few times. She lived in Chicago. She will be missed.

This book project must have preceded the “Me Too” movement of 2017 by many months but it offers a timeless girl empowerment message . Each page is a lyrical note or message to the Girl (Your girl? My girl?) about self-acceptance and self-love in the face of life’s challenges. One senses these are words of wisdom that Amy shared with Paris as she was raising her. The delightful art was digitally created by Holly Hatam, mixing cartoon-stylized humans with watercolor settings with clever touches of collage including a classic text and many girl-power historical images.  

This book would be enjoyed as a quiet and repeated lap sit with a Girl that you love, ages 2 to 32. It would also make a great gift for someone you love.

Find Dear Girl in the Library

Mary Jo, Kids World

The Wolf, The Duck & The Mouse by Mac Barnett

The Wolf, The Duck, & The Mouse book cover: illustration of a wolf behind a tree“Early one morning, a mouse met a wolf, and he was quickly gobbled up.”

You might think that’s the end of the story. But you would be wrong.

The quirky dead-pan duo, writer Mac Barnett and illustrator Jon Klassen, have paired up once again to tell a tale of what happens when a mouse gets eaten by a wolf. This picture book is recommended for young readers in lower elementary grades who enjoy the pair’s other books and their sense of humor.

Find The Wolf, The Duck, & The Mouse in the Library

Victoria, Kids World

M.F.K. by Nilah Magruder

M.F.K. book cover: a desert scene with sand blowing a cloacked figure walks with a large bird-like riding animal behindI’m not doing it for them. I’m doing it because you PISSED ME OFF!

Jaime sees a strange figure roll in from the desert. A young girl, alone and injured. Taking her to his family’s home, they help her to slowly recover. Shrouded in mystery, Abbie carries a lot of secrets with her. Why is she alone, what’s in the jar she’s carrying, and why is her blood black? In this rough land with a people struggling to survive, a story of strange powers, people, and friendship begins. Welcome to Marigold. The sandiest town this side of the neck.

Grades 3-6 will enjoy this graphic novel adventure. A beautifully illustrated story in a dystopian desert world, filled with action and adventure, M.F.K. is sure to engage them. Characters come to life and are developed along the course of the adventure. This is an ongoing series, so the next volume will continue the story.

Find M.F.K. in the Library

Naomi, Kids World

Google Expeditions Demo

Google Expeditions: photograph of cardboard adapter that allows a smart phone to become virtual realityJoin us along with Google Expeditions for an up close look at their augmented reality learning lessons. We will take an up close look at forces of nature, dinosaurs and the solar system.

This program does not require registration, so drop in Wednesday, December 27th anytime between 3:30 and 5:00pm to play with some pretty neat technology. Let's learn in 3D!

Please be aware: Google requires users to be ages 5 or older. Google cardboard's employed safety standards require users to be ages 7 and up.

My Very Own Space By Pippa Goodhart

My Very Own Space book cover: bunch of illustrated rabbits “SHUSH! I want to look at my book!”

Sometimes everyone needs a little space to themselves. Little Rabbit Jack just wants to read his book but all those around him keep interrupting him. His solution is to enclose himself in a crayon drawn circle so he can finish his book. Soon he gets lonely when he realized how much fun everyone else was having around him, while he was all alone. Little Rabbit Jack realizes the difference between being alone and lonely. Sometimes alone time is needed to accomplish a task but being alone all the time isn’t fun.

A good lap read for kids age 2 and up, the darling illustrations will keep your little reader engaged.

Find My Very Own Space in the Library

Gilly, Kids World

Top Elf by Caleb Zane Huett

Top Elf book cover: red cover with a small elf holding up the title words"Could anyone be Santa? It seemed crazy. But Santa was saying it..."

Santa Matthew Claus is retiring and, breaking with tradition, he's not going to give the job over to his eldest son, Klaus. This time, this year, a competition shall be held to determine who will be the next Santa. Elves and Claus's kids are signing up in mass. When Ollie and Celia, two hardworking enthusiastic elves, join in the series of trials, they get a little more than they bargained for as it becomes clear that not every competitor has motivations as jolly.  It's not too long before the North Pole and Christmas itself is in danger of being ruined forever.

This North Pole chapter book balances funny antics with some serious drama, and is perfect for upper elementary readers who are looking for something festive this holiday season.

Find Top Elf in the Library

Celeste, Kids World

Far Out Fables: The Ugly Dino Hatchling by Stephanie Peters

The Ugly Dino Hatchling book cover: a illustration of a purple T-Rex hatching out of an egg as four ducks look on"But just when she thought the egg was safe...It fell into a swirling portal to another demension in time!"

When a T-Rex egg lands in a duck's nest, the animals all agree that 'Rex' isn't much like any of the animals on the farm; but, what will happen when something dangerous comes?

Told in a comic format with brightly colored panels and easy to follow dialogue; it includes a synopsis of the original story of The Ugly Duckling, some visual questions to guide discussion and a glossary.  A quick read and a good choice for kids looking for fractured fairytales, stories about dinosaurs or want to try out a new format.

Find The Ugly Dino Hatchling in the Library

Jennifer Palermo, Kids World

I Want to Be in a Scary Story by Sean Taylor

I want to be in a Scary Story book cover: simple illustration of a purple monster“Ok. We could start the story in a dark and scary forest.”

Little Monster wants to be part of a story, but not just any story. He wants be part of a scary story! But there might be a spooky house, maybe a creepy ghost, and wait, is that a monkey? This story filled with bold illustrations for young readers who love a good fright (and a laugh.)

This book is recommended for children in preschool through early elementary levels.

Find I Want to Be in a Scary Story in the Library.

Victoria, Kids World

The Iron Trial by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare

Iron Trial book cover: preteens with cloaked figure in mask above them"You must bind Callum's magic before the end of the year."

Callum Hunt is determined to not get selected to attend the Magisterium. His father says the school for mages was responsible for the death of his mother and if Callum goes he will end up just like her. Against all odds, the unthinkable happens and Cal is selected to become a mage apprentice. But school isn't what his father says...and Callum discovers a terrible secret about the mages old enemy. A secret he is determined to take to his grave.

For fans of Harry Potter and Rick Riordian the Iron Trial is a fast paced journey into an alternate world where magic, secrets and friendship make book one of The Magisterium series a keeper. Recommended for middle grade readers.

Find The Iron Trial in the Library

Tiffany, Kids World

Pages