The Iron Trial by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare

Iron Trial book cover: preteens with cloaked figure in mask above them"You must bind Callum's magic before the end of the year."

Callum Hunt is determined to not get selected to attend the Magisterium. His father says the school for mages was responsible for the death of his mother and if Callum goes he will end up just like her. Against all odds, the unthinkable happens and Cal is selected to become a mage apprentice. But school isn't what his father says...and Callum discovers a terrible secret about the mages old enemy. A secret he is determined to take to his grave.

For fans of Harry Potter and Rick Riordian the Iron Trial is a fast paced journey into an alternate world where magic, secrets and friendship make book one of The Magisterium series a keeper. Recommended for middle grade readers.

Find The Iron Trial in the Library

Tiffany, Kids World