National Book Award Winners

The National Book Award Winner's were announced yesterday. This year's top fiction award went to Adam Johnson for his short story collection Fortune Smiles. This is yet another prestigious win for Johnson after nabbing the Pulitizer for his last novel, The Orphan Master's Son. It's also the second year in a row that a short story collection has won one of America's most prestigious literary awards. Phil Klay won last year for Redeployment. The non-fiction award went to MacArthur Genius recipient Ta'Nehisi Coates for his book Between the World and Mea very moving open letter to Coates's son which Toni Morrison called "required reading."