2016 Edgar Award Winners

Edgar Award LogoThe Edgar Allan Poe Awards (popularly called the Edgars) are presented every spring by the Mystery Writers of America to honor the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction, television, and film. Today we're going to provide links links to the library catalog of each winner so you can easily place holds. Lists of all the nominees are avaialble on the Edgar Awards website, theedgars.com.

Best Novel
Best First Novel
The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen
Best Paperback Original
Best Fact Crime
Best Critical/Biographical
The Golden Age of Murder by Martin Edwards
Best Short Story
"Obits" in Bazaar of Bad Dreams by Stephen King
Best Young Adult
A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis
Best Juvenile
TV Episode
"Gently with the Women" from George Gently, Season Seven, Teleplay by Peter Flannery (find the entire series, too)
Mary Higgins Clark Award
Little Pretty Things by Lori Rader-Day
Each year since 2001, the Mystery Writers of America have given this special award to a novel written in the Mary Higgins Clark Tradition according to guidelines set forth by Clark herself.
  • The protagonist is a nice young woman whose life is suddenly invaded.
  • She’s self-made and independent, with primarily good family relationships.
  • She has an interesting job.
  • She is not looking for trouble–she is doing exactly what she should be doing and something cuts across her bow.
  • She solves her problem by her own courage and intelligence.
  • The story has no on-scene violence.
  • The story has no strong four-letter words or explicit sex scenes.